Grip It and Rip It

OCHS golf team seeks success despite low numbers

Article by Hannah Mondragon

The golf season has finally come again. This year the boys’ golf team only has six members, but their hunger for success is not affected by low numbers.

Golf is normally seen as an individual sport, but in high school it’s also a team sport. At competitions golfers perform individually but add up all the scores to get a team score. The OCHS golf team is hoping that they can receive a good enough team score at regionals to advance them on to the state tournament.

Freshman Brayden McDowell was asked if he thinks they have a chance to make it to state and what could get them there, and McDowell replied, “I think we have a chance to make it to state. Our team has enough integrity and respect to make this the best year we possibly can. We practice well together and we joke around so it’s definitely been a different experience.” Being the only freshman may be a little rough, but so is dual sporting.

Junior Ryan Haskins is also a part of the golf team even though he’s in baseball as well. He was asked about what made him want to dual sport and he replied, “I really like both sports so I chose to do both because I know I have the ability to do it. It also gave me another opportunity to try to make it to state.” Haskins was then asked about how he manages to practice for both and he replied, “I practice golf on weekends with my dad and my friends. Then I go to baseball after school.”

This year the boys may have a small team but they are hoping to have a successful season. From the sound of it, they are optimistic about their chances.  The Indian golfers will next be playing on Monday, April 27 at Shawnee Lake, so feel free to go out and support them as they swing their way to success.

Leave a comment